The Coloured World of Kids

Christian – Bilingual – Creative

We are a non-profit organisation and have been adding value to the Berlin district of Weißensee since 2011 with a small bilingual (English/German) Kindergarten. Here, families from different cultural backgrounds can meet and help to create a colourful, appreciative and courageous world for children. Our Kindergarten offers spaces for 20 children from 1.5 to 6 years. Between 7.30 and 16.30 the children are looked after and encouraged according to the guidelines of the Berlin education program. We charge an additional parental contribution of 33 – 88 € (depending on the parents’ income). Thank you for your interest! We encourage you to take a closer look at our lovingly designed and comprehensive programme.

Mission Statement

“The Colored World of Kids” stands for a colourful world in which every family has its own biography, language, lifestyle and expectations. We aspire to respect the individuality of each family of the children we serve, and to accompany and support the child alongside their parents. The Kindergarten is a place that aims to empower children to become responsible, tolerant, and capable of conflict, and to prepare them for life in a multicultural society.

Christian values and beliefs play a guiding role for us. Language means identity for us, the family’s languages should have their place in the Kindergarten and should be audible and visible to everyone. Our bilingual concept organically enables a natural second-language acquisition of the English or German language. With creativity and a variety of well-designed methods, we want to give children the opportunity to understand their world and to express themselves.

More about our concept, our familiarisation process, inclusive work, our participation in the Kita Language Programme and much more can be found here.

News

Projects

Our current project is called Body and Health, where we go on a journey of discovery through our body, discovering our strengths and interests and travelling through to our feelings. What does the heart sound like and can we make music using our heartbeats? What do we need to stay healthy especially in this winter season and what are all feelings out there? We will touch on the different educational areas of the BBP and are excited to see what questions the children ask about the topic and how we can find answers.

Events

Due to the Coronavirus, our current events have been cancelled.

Closing times

Coronavirus: 17.03. – 17.04.2020

22.05. Day after Ascension Day

Summer break: 20.07. – 31.07.2020

Autumn break: 12.10. – 16.10. followed by internal evaluation: 19.10. – 23.10.2020

Christmas: 23.12. – 01.01.21

Publications

Children’s book: Ich bin… I am

This book offers kids simple word examples to familiarise themselves with the German or English language. Pre-school relevant topics such as their own identity (who am I and what do I like?), family and friends are explored – themes that can be used as catalysts for further communication. “I am…” is specifically designed for kids coming in contact with the English or German language for the first time for example, in a kindergarten setting and need some basic, self-effective linguistic skills.

This book was cultivated as a course of the government program “Sprachkita – because language is the key to the world”.

Children’s book: Panda, Me and Virus

Staying at home isn‘t easy for Lucy. She would much rather go to her Kindergarten and play with her friends. She goes on the quest for her own answers and meets Panda, Tiger and Virus.

“Addressing the multitude of emotions every child must be facing in these uncertain times, this book will make the COVID-19 lockdown so much more bearable for kids.”

– Shalomie Tewes, Graphic Designer and Content Creator

Our Team

© Copyright 2020 - the Coloured World of Kids e.V.

The Coloured World of Kids

christlich – bilingual – kreativ

Wir sind ein gemeinnütziger Verein und bereichern seit 2011 den Berliner Bezirk Weißensee um einen kleinen bilingualen (englisch/deutsch) Kinderladen. Hier können sich Familien aus unterschiedlichen kulturellen Backgrounds begegnen und eine bunte, wertschätzende und mutige Kinderwelt mitgestalten. Der Kinderladen bietet Platz für 20 Kinder von 1,5 bis 6 Jahren. Zwischen 7.30 und 16.30 Uhr werden die Kinder entsprechend den Vorgaben des Berliner Bildungsprogramms betreut und gefördert. Wir erheben einen zusätzlichen Elternbeitrag von 33 – 88 € (abhängig vom Einkommen der Eltern).

Wir freuen uns über euer Interesse und empfehlen, sich genauer unser liebevoll gestaltetes, ausführliches Konzept anzuschauen.

Konzept

“the Coloured World of Kids” steht für eine bunte Welt, in der jede Familie seine eigene Biografie, Sprache, Lebensweise und Erwartungen hat. Wir haben den Anspruch, die Individualität jeder Familie der von uns betreuten Kinder zu respektieren und gemeinsam mit den Eltern das Kind zu begleiten und zu fördern. Es ist ein Ort, der die Kinder in ihrer Entwicklung zu verantwortungsvollen, toleranten und konfliktfähigen Menschen fördern will und auf das Leben in einer multikulturellen Gesellschaft vorbereitet.

Dabei spielen christliche Werte und Glaubenssätze für uns eine orientierende Rolle. Besonders Sprache bedeutet für uns Identität, die Familiensprachen sollen ihren Platz in der Kita haben. Unser bilinguales Konzept ermöglicht einen natürlichen Zweitspracherwerb der englischen oder deutschen Sprache. Mit Kreativität und verschiedensten Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten möchten wir Kindern die Möglichkeit geben, ihre Welt zu begreifen und sich auszudrücken.

Mehr zu unserem Konzept, über unser Eingewöhnungskonzept, inklusives Arbeiten, Teilnahme am Sprachkitaprogramm und vieles mehr findet ihr hier.

Publikationen

Kinderbuch: Ich bin… I am

Dieses Buch bietet Kindern einfache Sprachbeispiele, um sich der deutschen oder englischen Sprache anzunähern. Es werden kinderrelevante Themen wie die eigene Identität (Wer bin ich und was mag ich?), Familie und Freunde aufgegriffen, sie dienen als Impulsgeber für eine weiterführende Kommunikation. „Ich bin…“ eignet sich besonders für Kinder, die z.B. in der Kita zum ersten Mal mit der deutschen oder englischen Sprache in Kontakt kommen und sprachliches Rüstzeug für ihr selbstwirksames Handeln brauchen.

Das Buch wurde im Zuge des Bundesprogrammes  „Sprachkita – weil Sprache der Schlüssel zur Welt ist“ entwickelt.

Unser Team

Kontakt

Adresse:

the Coloured World of Kids e.V.

Streustraße 121

13086 Berlin (Weißensee)

Bei Interesse an einem Kitaplatz senden Sie uns bitte eine E-Mail mit ihren Kontaktdaten, den Infos zu ihrem Kind und kurz etwas zu Ihrer Familie (kultureller, sprachlicher und/ oder religiöser Hintergrund).

Mail: mail@colouredworld.de

Amtsgericht Charlottenburg (Berlin).

Aktenzeichen: VR 29218 B

Kontoverbindung: DE15 4306 0967 1119 9932 00

Als gemeinnütziger Verein sind wir sind berechtigt, Spendenbescheinigungen auszustellen!

Vorstand:

Jessica Gierlichs

Christopher Goldswain

Birte Gundermann

Anna Koppri

Miriam Kunde

© Copyright 2020 - the Coloured World of Kids e.V.